Passion and Polygamy

For most part of my adult life, I remember being horrified by this one question, Whats your goal/ dream/ passion?” Horrified because I felt I was not normal not to have one solid goal to chase, a goal to motivate myself to wake up every morning.

What was wrong with me!?

Truth is that I had too many things I was passionate about. But nothing that I could die for. Nothing that I could say out loud without fear or embarrassment.

If a career counselor gave me a sheet with a list to tick or cross off, I know what I could quickly cross off.

I am not into fashion. I have never used a blow dryer my entire life and I can go without shaving my legs or tweezing my eyebrows for a month. I am not into finance or accounts or science or insurance. I am definitely not into coding or anything technical.

This was easy. Now for the my-biggest-pain-in-the-a** list.

I like creating things – cards, wall arts, DIYs.

I have made pretty good videos for my friends and family for their birthdays/ anniversaries.

I cook meals with a lot of love, and it somehow turns out well most times. People often tell me I should consider starting some small business.

I love writing, which is obvious because I am here.

I love an Indian illustrator Alicia Souza so much that her name was the first one to pop in my head when my journal asked me a question, “who is your role model?”. I would love love to do what she does.

I thought I was into photography when I found myself enjoying clicking good candid shots in functions. My brother hence gifted me a Canon Rebel for my wedding. 2 years have passed and I am yet to learn what the manual mode does.

I love singing. Always have. If I knew how to play the guitar or any other instrument, I would be having my own Youtube channel now.

I never really learnt Photoshop even though I was good at photo edits;

I think I liked teaching or training

I enjoyed learning sign language

I felt at a point that I can even be a good counselor!

And I’m not even sure the list is over yet. (I hope it is)

If you see how I have started my blog, you will find that I don’t have a theme or a specific category. (to call it a food blog or a fashion blog for example)

I recently saw a TEDx video where a woman named Terri Trespicio talked about how we should stop searching for our passion and move on with whatever life offers us. Well, I am like Play Doh sometimes. I get easily molded into people’s opinions when they talk well and I thought I agreed with her. I felt I should stop questioning myself everyday and start seriously applying for any job that I could qualify for. Any job that would pay! It doesn’t matter whether I liked it, it just had to give me a place to start off. Once I did, all I would have to do is perform well, grow up the ladder and stick to it for as long as I can.
Next morning, however, I woke up to realize the most obvious truth.
The fact that its NOT necessary that we are all born with ONLY one ultimate career path that will just stiiiiiir our passion. This is not a quiz. There is no one right answer. For all you know, its a multiple answers question which requires you to choose all the right answers!! Meaning, you will probably go on to having an art store now and a catering business 10 years later!
You can most definitely be polygamous with your passion. You can always choose a different passion to make a career out of, in case the previous one fails.
So it suddenly became clear to me, that its okay to be interested in more than one thing. What matters is what you do about it. Do you wait for the universe to send you a gigantic helium arrow pointing at the one “right” career for you? Or do you make up your mind and pick one that is practical, feasible and something that you can imagine doing for the next (let’s say) at least 5 years?
5 thoughts on “Passion and Polygamy

  1. I fell into my career, really: I needed a job because I was getting married and had some computer training, and that’s what I ended up doing. You don’t always start out with the passion and find the matching job; often it’s the other way around.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. agnishul says:

    Well said! Be passionate about whatever life throws at you and become the best at it. Passions, Likes, Dislikes and Opinions change as life and situations change.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You know the saying “jack of all trades, master of none”? I always thought it was kind of hurtful, exactly because of what you wrote about. Sometimes I wish I was just good at one thing, so that it would be easier for me to focus on it. The reality is that I am good at many things. I like many things. I am a quick learner, which could lead to me being good at other things I am not even aware of. Oh, well, I might not end up being the most well known person in a specific field, but I sure as hell will dabble in various things I like!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

